Formula DRIFT Announces 2018 Championship Calendar

Long Beach, Calif. – December 5, 2017 – Formula DRIFT Black Magic Pro Championship has announced the official 2018 calendar for the Pro Championship and Pro2 Championship. The 15th Anniversary season will feature eight rounds of competition within the continental United States.

Notable changes include the addition of Gateway Motorsports Park, located just outside St. Louis, MO to fill a gap in the Midwest. Las Vegas will replace the iconic Irwindale Speedway for the season finale due to Irwindale’s closure this coming January.

“Returning to the Midwest has been a goal for us since our last event in Chicago back in 2006,” said Jim Liaw, President and Co-founder of Formula DRIFT. “Since then fans in the Midwest have been calling for a championship round and today we are happy to announce our return to the region. With the closure of such an iconic track as Irwindale Speedway, it was fitting to replace the venue with a location that provides glitz and glamour for a season finale that only Las Vegas can as a tourist destination. We expect a huge influx of fans traveling into Vegas for this round.”

Formula DRIFT Black Magic Pro Championship will begin in April at Round 1: Streets of Long Beach for the 2018 season. The 2018 Formula DRIFT Pro Championship Schedule is below:

2018 Formula DRIFT Black Magic Pro Championship Schedule*

Round 1
April 6 – 7 – Streets of Long Beach – Long Beach, CA

Invitational: Super Drift Challenge at the Grand Prix of Long Beach**
April 13 – 14 – Streets of Long Beach – Long Beach, CA

Round 2
April 27 – 28 – Orlando Speedworld – Orlando, FL

Round 3
May 11 – 12 – Road Atlanta – Atlanta, GA with Pro2

Round 4
June 1 – 2 – Wall Stadium Speedway – Wall Township, NJ

Round 5
July 20 – 21 – Evergreen Speedway – Monroe, WA

Round 6
August 10 – 11 – Gateway Motorsports Park – St. Louis, MO with Pro2

Round 7
September 14 – 15 – Texas Motor Speedway – Dallas, TX with Pro2

Round 8
October 12 – 13 – Las Vegas Motor Speedway – Las Vegas, NV with Pro2

*Subject to Change
**Non-Championship Points Competition

Article source: